Shop

Artists Talking DVDs

DVD 1: "Pop Art" presents three exceptional artists, who speak about their work and discuss topics such as identity, the art market, politics and readymades. With Thomas Bayrle and Konstantin Adamopoulos (29 min, English subtitles), James Rosenquist and Max Hollein (35 min), Haim Steinbach and Jan Avgikos (59 min). ISBN: 978-3-96098-243-2. Price: € 19.80 (incl. VAT)

DVD 2: "Art and Language" presents eight exceptional artists, who speak about their work and discuss topics such as texts and language in art, minimalism, tattoos and memorials. With Art & Language: Michael Baldwin, Charles Harrison, Mel Ramsden and Paul Wood (30 min), Heinz Gappmayr and Wolfgang Fetz (36 min, English subtitles), Jenny Holzer and Allan Schwartzman (40 min), Lawrence Weiner and Vitus Weh (32 min, English subtitles), Christopher Wool and Martin Prinzhorn (25 min). ISBN: 978-3-96098-244-9. Price: € 19.80 (incl. VAT)

DVD 3: "Conceptual Art" presents five exceptional artists, who speak about their work and discuss topics such as art school, spaces, conceptual art and the hierarchy of looking. With John Baldessari and Stella Rollig (36 min), Robert Barry and Vitus Weh (41 min), Pavel Büchler and Hans-Ulrich Obrist (71 min), Jeremy Deller and Hilary Lloyd (14 min), Joseph Kosuth and Martin Prinzhorn (40 min). ISBN: 978-3-96098-245-6. Price: € 19.80 (incl. VAT)

DVD 4: "Performance Art" presents six exceptional artists, who speak about their work and discuss topics such as sculptures, performances, relationships, television and museums. With Chris Burden and Christopher Knight (29 min), Andrea Fraser and Christian Philipp Müller (14 min), Gilbert & George and Wolf Jahn (16 min), Paul McCarthy and Timothy Martin (10 min), Rirkrit Tiravanjia and Ami Barak (18 min). Bonus material: Andrea Fraser, Section of "Museum Highlights: A Gallery Talk". ISBN: 978-3-96098-246-3. Price: € 19.80 (incl. VAT) Published by Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln. Kindly supported by Bildrecht. Further DVDs are in preparation.


Artists Talking presented by museum in progress is a series of high-calibre interviews with over one hundred international artists who have exerted a major influence on contemporary art. The interviews are part of a series of videos started in 1992 entitled Artist Portraits on Video. Most of the interviews were conducted in Vienna in the context of exhibitions or symposiums. They did not have any predefined content or length and therefore genuinely reflect the artistic discourse of their time. The artists also provide fascinating insights into their artistic strategies and methods of working.

Based on a concept by Peter Kogler and museum in progress, the recordings have an interesting aesthetic design. The artists are shown face-on as “talking heads”, while the interviewer is heard but not seen. Thanks to the use of the blue-box recording technique, the artists were then able to determine the background colouring themselves. The single colours in most cases reference Pop Art and Andy Warhol in particular. This visual concept was originally designed by Peter Kogler for an unrealised series of interviews with former Factory members and was shown for the first time in the late 1980s in the experimental video Mavo Tape.

This edition presents the interviews compiled for distribution in small groups of four to seven recordings per DVD with titles like Art and Language or Performance Art, based on the artists’ work and the interview content. The titles are not intended to compartmentalise the participants and cannot fully reflect the diversity of the artists’ work. Most of the artists would fit into several groups without necessarily feeling as if they belong to any group at all. At the same time, this grouping sheds light both on the artists as individuals and on the common features in their points of view and methods of working.

The video interviews were produced in cooperation with various institutions and collaborators. The Studio for New Media founded by Kogler at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna has collaborated for many years in recording and editing of videos, with the cinematic expertise of Elisabeth Fiege making an important contribution. The photographer Christian Schoppe was involved in the video recordings from 1992 to 1994 and took twenty-six portrait photos of the artists. From 1992 to 1996, the interviews were funded as part of the Curator Programme of the Austrian Federal Ministry of Education and Art, later Science, Research and Art, under the direction of Robert Fleck and Stella Rollig. This permitted an extension of the project to the media space in the daily newspaper Der Standard. In 1997, Kunsthaus Bregenz presented the interviews in an exhibition entitled Artists: 50 Positions of Contemporary International Art – Video Portraits and Works, which included new interviews recorded specially for the event. Thereafter, museum in progress published the interviews on VHS and has shown them regularly since then at international exhibitions. This DVD edition remasters the outdated VHS edition and adds over fifty hitherto unpublished interviews. The DVD project was made possible by Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln.

TOP

Artists Talking DVDs

Artists Talking, DVDs 1-4 
Photo: Andreas Scheiblecker 

DVD 1: „Pop Art“ präsentiert drei Künstler/innen, die über ihr Werk und Themen wie Identität, Kunstmarkt, Politik und Readymades sprechen. Mit Thomas Bayrle und Konstantin Adamopoulos (29 min, englische Untertitel), James Rosenquist und Max Hollein (35 min), Haim Steinbach und Jan Avgikos (59 min). ISBN: 978-3-96098-243-2. Preis: € 19,80 (inkl. MwSt.)

DVD 2: „Art and Language“ präsentiert acht Künstler/innen, die über ihr Werk und Themen wie Sprache in der Kunst, Minimalismus, Tattoos und Mahnmale sprechen. Mit Art & Language: Michael Baldwin, Charles Harrison, Mel Ramsden und Paul Wood (30 min), Heinz Gappmayr und Wolfgang Fetz (36 min, englische Untertitel), Jenny Holzer und Allan Schwartzman (40 min), Lawrence Weiner und Vitus Weh (32 min, englische Untertitel), Christopher Wool und Martin Prinzhorn (25 min). ISBN: 978-3-96098-244-9. Preis: € 19,80 (inkl. MwSt.)

DVD 3: „Conceptual Art“ präsentiert fünf Künstler/innen, die über ihr Werk und Themen wie Kunstschulen, den Raum, Konzeptkunst und die Hierarchie des Sehens sprechen. Mit John Baldessari und Stella Rollig (36 min), Robert Barry und Vitus Weh (41 min), Pavel Büchler und Hans-Ulrich Obrist (71 min), Jeremy Deller und Hilary Lloyd (14 min), Joseph Kosuth und Martin Prinzhorn (40 min). ISBN: 978-3-96098-245-6. Preis: € 19,80 (inkl. MwSt.)

DVD 4: „Performance Art“ präsentiert sechs Künstler/innen, die über ihr Werk und Themen wie Skulptur, Performance, Beziehungen, Fernsehen und Museen sprechen. Mit Chris Burden und Christopher Knight (29 min), Andrea Fraser und Christian Philipp Müller (14 min), Gilbert & George und Wolf Jahn (16 min), Paul McCarthy und Timothy Martin (10 min), Rirkrit Tiravanjia und Ami Barak (18 min). Bonusmaterial: Andrea Fraser, Ausschnitt aus „Museum Highlights: A Gallery Talk”. ISBN: 978-3-96098-246-3. Preis: € 19,80 (inkl. MwSt.)

Erschienen im Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln. Weitere DVDs sind in Vorbereitung.


museum in progress präsentiert mit „Artists Talking“ eine hochkarätige Gesprächsreihe mit über einhundert internationalen Künstler/innen. Für die ab 1992 unter dem Titel „Künstlerportraits auf Video“ gefilmten Gespräche wurden Künstler/innen eingeladen, die für die zeitgenössische Kunst prägend waren. Ein Großteil der Interviews konnte in Wien realisiert werden, meist im Kontext von Ausstellungen oder Symposien. Ohne Vorgabe von Gesprächsinhalten oder -länge reflektierten und belebten die Interviews in authentischer Weise den künstlerischen Diskurs ihrer Entstehungszeit. Darüber hinaus gewährten die Künstler/innen spannende Einblicke in ihre künstlerischen Strategien und Arbeitsweisen.

Nach einem Konzept von Peter Kogler und museum in progress verfügen die Aufnahmen über eine einzigartige Ästhetik: Die Künstler/innen werden in Frontalsicht als „Talking Heads“ gezeigt, während die Stimme des Gesprächspartners jeweils aus dem Off zu hören ist. In der Bluebox aufgezeichnet, konnten die Künstler/innen im Nachhinein die Farbigkeit des Hintergrunds bestimmen. Die bunten, fast durchgängig einfarbigen Bildhintergründe sind eine Referenz an die Pop Art und im Speziellen an Andy Warhol. Das visuelle Konzept wurde von Peter Kogler ursprünglich für eine – unrealisierte – Interviewreihe mit den ehemaligen Factory-Mitgliedern konzipiert und Ende der 1980er-Jahre in seiner experimentellen Videoarbeit „Mavo Tape“ erstmalig umgesetzt.

Die vorliegende Edition präsentiert die Gesprächsreihe in kleinen Gruppen mit drei bis zu sieben Aufnahmen pro DVD. Dabei werden die Interviews für den DVD-Vertrieb unter Schlagworte wie „Art and Language“ oder „Performance Art“ zusammengefasst. Für diese Gruppierungen waren einerseits das Werk der Künstler/innen und andererseits die Gesprächsinhalte ausschlaggebend. Die DVD-Gruppentitel sind nicht als „Schubladisierungen“ zu verstehen und können den vielseitig arbeitenden Künstler/innen auch nicht gerecht werden. Viele der Künstler/innen würden zu mehreren Gruppen passen, ohne dass sie sich zwangsläufig überhaupt einer Gruppe zugehörig fühlen. Dennoch wird gerade durch das Nebeneinanderstellen der einzelnen Positionen der Blick sowohl auf das jeweils Individuelle wie auf das Gemeinsame der künstlerischen Sicht- und Arbeitsweisen geschärft.

Die Video-Gespräche wurden in Kooperation mit verschiedenen Institutionen und Mitwirkenden produziert: Langjähriger Partner für Aufnahme und Schnitt war das von Peter Kogler gegründete Studio für Neue Medien an der Akademie der bildenden Künste unter der Mitarbeit von Elisabeth Fiege, deren filmisches Know-how dem Projekt zugutekam. Der Fotograf Christian Schoppe begleitete die Videoaufnahmen von 1992 bis 1994 und fertigte insgesamt sechsundzwanzig Fotoporträts der beteiligten Künstler/innen an. Von 1992 bis 1996 wurde die Gesprächsreihe im Rahmen des Kuratorenprogramms des Bundesministeriums für Unterricht und Kunst bzw. für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst unter der Leitung von Robert Fleck und Stella Rollig gefördert. Dies ermöglichte von 1994 bis 1996 auch eine Erweiterung des Kunstprojekts in den Medienraum der Tageszeitung Der Standard. 1997 präsentierte das Kunsthaus Bregenz die Interviewreihe im Rahmen der Ausstellung „KünstlerInnen. 50 Positionen zeitgenössischer internationaler Kunst. Videoporträts und Werke“, wobei zu den vorhandenen Gesprächen gezielt neue produziert wurden. In der Folge veröffentlichte museum in progress die Interviews auf VHS und zeigte sie seither regelmäßig in internationalen Ausstellungen. Die vorliegende DVD-Edition aktualisiert die technisch überholte VHS-Edition und ergänzt sie mit über fünfzig bisher komplett unveröffentlichten Gesprächen. Ermöglicht wurde das DVD-Projekt durch den Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln.

Preis:  EUR 19,80 je (inkl. MwSt., exkl. Versandkosten)
Bestellen/Anfragen:
Name:
E-Mail:
Firma:
Anschrift:
PLZ / Ort:
Land:
Telefonnummer:
Stück: x Artists Talking DVDs
Kommentar:
Reload Image
Spam-Schutz:
Geben Sie den dargestellten Code ein
Debug [+/-]
Queries:
Array
(
    [redirect] => /shop/artists-talking-dvds
    [Config] => Array
        (
            [language] => de
        )

)