About museum in progress

"... the museum only makes sense as a pioneer." (Alexander Dorner, 1893–1957)

museum in progress is concerned with the changing ways in which art is brought before the public and develops innovative models for co-operation between business, art and media. The art initiative, founded in 1990 by Prof. Kathrin Messner and Josef Ortner († 2009), organises exhibitions in media such as newspapers, magazines, billboards, the facades of buildings, TV, the internet and concert halls, and thereby integrates art into everyday life. Based on Joseph Beuys’ “extended definition of art”, this private art association extends the definition of a museum and through its activities transforms the public and media space into a “museum” for its art projects. The museum of the 21st century exists as a flexible structure and establishes the form in which it appears directly in media space.

"The new type of art institute cannot merely be an art museum as it has been until now, but no museum at all. The new type will be more like a power station, a producer of new energy." (Alexander Dorner)

museum in progress is a non-profit art association with the aim of developing innovative forms of presentation for contemporary art. Since 1990 a variety of media exhibition spaces making contemporary art accessible to a wide public have been opened with the "museum in progress" imprint. The work of museum in progress is media-specific, context-dependent and temporary. This applies both to individual projects and to the whole structure. An indispensable precondition for the activities of museum in progress is the independence of the artistic decision, protected by binding contracts with numerous partners. museum in progress addresses the public both on behalf of international contemporary art and open discourse in society. museum in progress therefore acts independently of political influence.

In three decades, museum in progress has realised more than 1000 multiples in newspapers and magazines. These media-specific works offer a unique breadth in terms both of form and content. No other institution has a comparable collection of high-quality newspaper art and magazine works. It should be emphasised that the diverse works by international artists were designed specifically for the media space and are not reproductions of artworks but function as multiples, as stand-alone works for the medium in question. This means that the individual newspapers or issues are originals and collectors' items.

The role of museum in progress in art history was recognised early on by leading museums like the MoMA in New York or Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen in Rotterdam, which at the start of the millennium already included our works in their collections.

TOP

Über museum in progress

Texte
museum in progress – Vitus Weh
museum in progress – Robert Fleck
Kunst, Kapital, Konfrontationen in progress – Ralph Ubl
Museum und Concept Art – Robert Fleck
Josef Ortner (1956–2009) – Roman Berka
Museums on the Move (Artforum) – Daniel Birnbaum, Hans-Ulrich Obrist

...Nur als Pionier hat das Museum Sinn. (Alexander Dorner, 18931957)

museum in progress greift die Veränderungen im Vermittlungszusammenhang von Kunst auf und entwickelt innovative Modelle der Kooperation zwischen Wirtschaft, Kunst und Medien. Die 1990 von Prof. Kathrin Messner und Josef Ortner († 2009) gegründete Kunstinitiative organisiert Ausstellungen in Medien wie Tageszeitungen, Wochenmagazinen, Plakatflächen, Gebäudefassaden, TV, Internet, Konzertsälen und integriert damit Kunst ins Spannungsfeld des täglichen Lebens. In Anlehnung an den „erweiterten Kunstbegriff“ von Joseph Beuys beansprucht und erweitert der private Kunstverein den Museumsbegriff und transformiert durch seine Aktivitäten den medialen und öffentlichen Raum in ein „Museum“ für seine Kunstprojekte. Das Museum des 21. Jahrhunderts existiert als flexible Struktur und etabliert seine Auftrittsformen direkt im Medienraum.

Der neue Typ des Kunstinstituts kann nicht nur kein Kunst-Museum im bisherigen Sinne sein, sondern gar kein Museum. Der neue Typ würde eher einem Kraftwerk gleichen, einem Erzeuger von neuen Kräften. (Alexander Dorner)

museum in progress ist eine gemeinnützige Kunstinitiative, die es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht hat, innovative und zeitgemäße Präsentationsformen für Gegenwartskunst zu entwickeln. Seit 1990 werden unter dem Signet museum in progress in verschiedenen Medien Ausstellungsräume geöffnet, die zeitgenössische Kunst einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich machen. Die Praxis von museum in progress ist medienspezifisch, kontextabhängig und temporär. Dies gilt sowohl für einzelne Projekte als auch für die gesamte Struktur. Unabdingbare Voraussetzung für die Aktivitäten des museum in progress ist die Unabhängigkeit der künstlerischen Entscheidung, die durch verbindliche Verträge mit sämtlichen Kooperationspartnern geschützt wird. museum in progress adressiert Öffentlichkeit sowohl für internationale zeitgenössische Kunst als auch für den offenen gesellschaftlichen Diskurs. In diesem Sinne handelt museum in progress unabhängig von politischer Einflußnahme.

In drei Jahrzehnten realisierte museum in progress mit über 600 Künstler/innen mehr als 1000 Einzelbeiträge in Zeitungen und Magazinen. Diese medienspezifischen Werke weisen eine inhaltliche und formale Breite auf, die absolut einzigartig ist. Keine andere Institution realisierte auch nur annähernd vergleichbare Konvolute an hochqualitativen Werken im Bereich Zeitungskunst und in Magazinen. Dabei ist zu betonen, dass die vielfältigen Arbeiten der internationalen Künstler/innen spezifisch für den Medienraum konzipiert wurden und keine Reproduktionen von Kunstwerken darstellen, sondern als Multiples funktionieren, als eigenständige Werke in der Auflage des Mediums. Folglich ist die einzelne Zeitung beziehungsweise das einzelne Heft ein Original und Sammlerstück.

Die kunsthistorisch bedeutsame Position von museum in progress wurde schon früh von führenden Museen wie dem MoMA in New York oder dem Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen in Rotterdam erkannt, die bereits um die Jahrtausendwende unsere Werke in ihre Sammlungen aufnahmen.

Debug [+/-]
Queries:
Array
(
    [redirect] => /about/
    [Config] => Array
        (
            [language] => de
        )

)